A Sunday Paratha

Daily Prompt: Time after Time
Traditions we’ve all got them. They might be family dinners on special occasions, or having a particular kind of cake on your birthday (Jeanne Cake, natch), or popcorn at the movies, or meeting your friend for a 5k run in the park, rain or shine, every Sunday morning. What are your favorite traditions, large and small? What is about your traditions that keep them going strong for you?
Show RITUAL.

The ritual we had was having Paratha for breakfast every Sunday.

Let me explain to those who are baffled by the word . Paratha is dough, patted into a round 6 to 7 inches in diameter or a bigger round. It is then fried in oil till cooked.

It is delicious if made by a person who really knows how to make it properly. It is crunchy and every bite melts in one’s mouth. If the dough is made with butter added to it, and again before it is made into a round, it tastes really great.

My paternal aunt Afroze was one of those people who knew how to make mouth watering parathas. I have eaten parathas made by my sister. She is one expert maker. The third person I came across is my husband’s niece.

In the beginning after I got married, I had no idea of anything to make or cook. I learned gradually and now I think (haha — my own inflated opinion) I am quite good.

My husband loved them made by me, so I can upgrade myself to good – good. šŸ˜Š

I stopped following the ritual after he became diabetic and had open heart surgery. He couldn’t give up on having a paratha and occasionally I made it for him.

If you want to learn, I am sure there are recipes on Internet. The best is to watch a video. My favorite one is Shireen Anwar on Masala TV, Pakistan. She shows how to make Aloo (potato) paratha, egg paratha and cottage cheese one. You will have to find a translator as the video is in Urdu. Even if you don’t find one the ingredients are written in English also and you can watch how she makes the stuffed parathas.
I hope the video works. If not there are lots of videos on UTube.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/prompt-time-after-time/
A Sunday Paratha

9 thoughts on “A Sunday Paratha”

Leave a Reply

