Getting Away

Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer
What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide.

20140319-093312.jpg

For me, it was always a hassle to get away. I left everything to my husband R to plan, where we were going and our stay. My only job was to pack what I wanted to take along with me. Even if it was for two days, I would pack at least six outfits and four pairs of footwear. I could never travel lightly. So you can imagine, if it was for a week or two weeks, what I would be packing?

The back seat of the car would be a mound of my belongings. This would be an addition to the two bags already in the trunk of the car. Looking on, my husband would grind his teeth helplessly. It was useless to say anything to you know who?

It was unimaginable for me to forget my two pillows, my own towels and toiletries. My husband was the opposite of me. He travelled with minimal clothes. His things fitted into a small bag, which he zipped and put it in the car and would be done. Then his waiting would start.

Till last minute I would dash inside, to bring out something or the other in shopping bags, to fling them on to the growing mound on the back seat. It would go on getting higher, till it obscured R’s view of the back.

While hurrying, with my to and fro to the car, I would keep my eyes safely averted from R’s ferocious frown, and daggers thrown at me, from his ice green eyes. I knew without looking, his eyes looked freezing.

At that moment I knew, (without his telling me) I was the most hateful, objectionable person in his life. If it was possible to murder me, he would have cheerfully gone ahead without any qualm.

He would breath a sigh of relief, when I would finally lock the front door and say, “Are you sure you don’t want to bring the rest of the house along with you?”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/daily-prompt-the-happy-wanderer/
Getting Away