My Luck!

Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender
Are you full of confidence or have you ever suffered from Imposter Syndrome?

20140327-120828.jpg

The truth is, I am shaky in confidence in myself. Today’s prompt reminds me of an afternoon tea, where I felt a fraud.

We (my husband and I) had invited about fifteen guests to a tea party. Tea is easier than giving a dinner.

I had made savory dishes like Chana Chat, Shami Kebabs, Samosas, Haleem and Chicken Tikkas. For a sweet tooth, I had made a chocolate dessert and a muffin type thing from coconut, condensed milk and nuts. I had the recipe from an old magazine of mine. It looked complicated and awesome. It looked like I must have gone great lengths over it, but it was easy to make.

The guests came. One of the guests S is spectacular in baking. She used to teach baking and cooking. I don’t know, how one of the guests assumed that the thing I had baked, was made by S. She gushed to S, that the thing looked amazing. I waited for a contradiction from S, but she never said a word. The other guests joined in the praise.

The reality was, whatever I knew about baking was from magazines and cookbooks.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/prompt-the-great-pretender/
My Luck!

16 thoughts on “My Luck!”

  1. WOW! the menu sounds mouth watering. I’ve never tried baking, I’m not very confident with that part of cooking.So I assume you are a master to have learnt from the cookbooks alone and getting praised for it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: B.Kaotic
  3. Pingback: B.Kaotic

Leave a Reply

