A Nightmare

Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion
Which subject in school did you find impossible to master? Did math give you hives? Did English make you scream? Do tell!

20140402-094443.jpg

Urdu and Maths were my most dreaded subjects in school.

Please don’t get me wrong. I love Urdu, but in school I hated it with vengeance in my heart. I wished it didn’t exist.

I would cram my head with the life histories of various poets. It would have been easy, if we were studying Allama Iqbal, Faraz or Faiz. We had to remember the life histories, poetry of poets on the other side of the border, because they were Urdu poets.

Despite all my efforts, the highest marks I ever got were 65/100. Terrible! Isn’t it? Those marks put me off it.

In senior school, I ditched Urdu for Elective English. My subjects being science I had to take Elective Maths. From the frying pan into the fire, cause Maths was a nightmare too.

I was one of those students, who was idealized by the teachers. I always stood first in class. Girls from senior and junior classes often told me, how I was held as a shinning example for them to follow. Their ears stung with my praises, from the teachers.

I did work hard in Maths to get the hundred per cent marks. It wasn’t easy. I was the average student in 70-80 bracket.

To this day one of my recurrent nightmares is that I am back in 7th grade, and Miss B is taking a test. My heart thuds painfully in my chest and I don’t know the answers to any of the questions.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/prompt-land-of-confusion/
A Nightmare

10 thoughts on “A Nightmare”

Leave a Reply

