Holding Onto Memories

Daily Prompt: Going Obsolete
Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

20140503-090106.jpg

I miss VCR the most. I have a lot of cassettes lying around. Some of them are of programs I loved watching on TV, but most of them are videos. I made many videos of my husband and children.

I kept two VCRs. They are of no use now. I found out the last time, I tried to use them.

I was alone and feeling lonely. I took out some cassettes. I badly wanted to recapture those moments with my husband and children. I hooked up one of the VCR to the TV. I kept on jabbing at the play button. It didn’t work. I took out the other VCR. It didn’t work either. I was so dissapointed.

Those videos contain memories of my life. In one of them, my husband is dancing to Pushto music. R loved Pushto music. Once, I told my mother-in-law. She didn’t believe me, till I showed her the video. She thought, I was making it up.

In one video, my daughter has her finger in the ice filled waters of Kalam. R had a bet with Nola, if she held one finger in, for five minutes, he was giving her five thousand. She held on for three minutes only.

In another video, both my children are jumping like Kangaroos, in Naran.

Those were fun filled moments.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/going-obsolete/
Holding Onto Memories

5 thoughts on “Holding Onto Memories”

Leave a Reply

