Invitation to Dinner

Daily Prompt: Saved by the Bell
Tell about the time when you managed to extract yourself from a sticky situation at the very last minute.

My husband’s friends rang up to say that they were in town. They planned to visit us at 5p.m, and would have a cup of tea, nothing more.

R was excited at their coming, and asked me what was I going to serve. Except for shami kebabs  (I promptly took some out to thaw), there was nothing else cooked and ready to serve.

I had already concluded that I will have to forgo my afternoon sleep. I set out to work. I made a dessert first, and put it in the freezer to chill. Then I made chicken tikka and chat. I heated the shami kebabs. By that time it was already four thirty. I switched on my Hostess Trolley to keep the eatables warm and rushed to take a shower.

The friends stayed till late, and my husband kept pressing them to have dinner with us. I had nothing for dinner. Normally I cooked in the evening. I kept praying in my heart that they will refuse, which thankfully they did. If they had stayed, I would have been in a fix.

I wonder why husbands are so obtuse?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/saved-by-the-bell/
Invitation to Dinner

One thought on “Invitation to Dinner”

Leave a Reply

