Only Two Rings

Daily Prompt: Finders, Keepers?
While walking on a beach you stumble on a valuable object buried in the sand — say, a piece of jewelry or an envelope full of cash. What do you do it?
Under what circumstances would you keep it?

20140527-103320-38000663.jpg
Photo Credit: Google

While walking on a beach, I have never found any cash or jewelry. I did find two rings and some cash else where. I found one ring at a party. The second ring was lying on the floor in my bedroom.

One of my friends RB had given a party. She was celebrating the passing out of her eldest son from PMA. All the invitees were gathered on the terrace of her home.

Near my foot I saw something sparking. Bending, I picked it up. It was a gold ring studded with rubies. I sought out RB, and give her the ring. She then made an announcement. One woman claimed it. To be on the safe side RB asked for the description of the ring before handing it over.

It was Eid day. Many friends and relatives had come to our home, to wish us “happy Eid”. After the last guest left, I went to my bedroom. I found a beautiful diamond ring at the foot of my bed.

Only two among the guests had used my bathroom. I dialed one of them first. It turned out to be her ring. She was over joyed that I had found her precious ring.

The cash was lying on my bed. I was wondering at how so much money had reached my bed. Our guests were still in our home. A child had been playing with his mother’s purse, and had left it on the bed.

It never came to my mind to keep the money or rings. My conscience wouldn’t have rested in peace.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/finders-keepers/
Only Two Rings

6 thoughts on “Only Two Rings”

Leave a Reply

