Never

Daily Prompt: It’s Your Party
Since many are marking their country’s birthday in the US today, we wanted to ask: How do you celebrate yours? Are you all for a big bash, or more of a low – key birthday boy/girl?

A Happy Fourth of July to Readers across US.

I couldn’t resist putting Google’s birthday celebration on my page.

I was a very welcome addition to our family. I was born eight years after my elder brother. My mother was ecstatic with joy on my birth. She had prayed for a second child to God, for a long time.

Oh! This is embarrassing (as told to me by aunt Zarin). Marriage proposals for a new born inundated my mom, when the relatives saw me for the first time. Girls were betrothed at an early stage in those days. Sometimes on the eve of a child’s birth. It’s terrible to think of it. The poor child not knowing to which world she had arrived, and what she would be facing in the future.

Thanks and Praises to God that this custom is not prevalent nowadays.

What were my mother’s feelings, I will never know. She died when I was five.

My dear father showered me with love. He kissed my cheek, and if I was sitting, he would drop a kiss on my head (at whatever time he saw me). It was many times during a day.

He couldn’t see my tears. Whatever I asked for was mine for the asking.

I usually asked for books. Magically they would be beside my pillow, when I opened my eyes, first thing in the morning.

But there is one thing; birthdays never got celebrated in our home. My birthday, or my siblings — no never.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/its-your-party/
Never

9 thoughts on “Never”

    1. No I don’t remember it when it comes along. My daughter phones, and wishes me. My son on the other hand is forgetful. Please don’t feel sorry, it doesn’t matter at all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

