Why Today?

Daily Prompt: Now? Later?
We all procrastinate. Website, magazine, knitting project, TV show, something else — what’s your favorite procrastination destination?

20140714-095404-35644243.jpg

I used to leave so many things, thinking tomorrow I will make a start. Naturally there would be a buildup of things to be done. Then I would work like a frenzied creature. The end result: I would make myself sick.

I tried a white board tapped to the wall near my dressing table. On it, I would write the immediate tasks to be done. Once the list was made, I would forget to look it up as to what needed to be done.

Another list of work was held by a magnet on the fridge door. In the beginning I would look at it as a new day would start. Slowly and gradually more work would pile up. Priorities were mentioned on a new list I made. I put it near the microwave. I figured probably this new list would grab my attention more. No such luck!

My excuses are not yet, later in the day, still time, and another day.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/now-later/
Why Today?

2 thoughts on “Why Today?”

  1. I am wondering why this is so true for so many people. We make ToDo lists and they are in plain sight to haunt us. My daughter wrote me just yesterday about the same thing.
    Her words:
    As I start to write my To Do List again today, I smile ruefully to myself, half expecting to do anything BUT what’s on it because of the pattern of the last forty-some odd years’ worth of To Do lists. I may be a slow learner, but there are things you begin to see when they are repeated time and time again. A To Do List is only a Hopeful List, not a list of what your day will really bring.
    ‘Thought provoking, isn’t it? Can we just “decide” to do anything, and then count on it? (James 4:13-15) As one day passes into the next, that endless, undone list of “To Do’s is a constant reminder of God’s power and our own powerlessness. We are SO not in control! We all know the surprise phone calls, the sudden illnesses, unexpected house guests, computer crashes, car accidents, those tiny indomitable knots in our sewing threads. These numerous and inevitable “detours of life” together show us Who is really in control, and it isn’t ourselves. If we acknowledge that fact, and learn to actually rejoice in the Work of God when we see it (the crashes, the flu, the knots) then we are growing in wisdom and humility, and the roadblocks will serve a good purpose in our hearts. But if we rage against the inevitable frustrations, or fret and whine about them, we become no better than the kings of the earth whom God will laugh at as they try to break His bands.
    Ps 2:1-5
    1 Why do the heathen rage, and the people imagine a vain thing?
    2 The kings of the earth set themselves, and the rulers take counsel together, against the LORD, and against his anointed, saying,
    3 Let us break their bands asunder, and cast away their cords from us.
    4 He that sitteth in the heavens shall laugh: the Lord shall have them in derision.
    5 Then shall he speak unto them (1696 dabar; A primitive root; perhaps properly to arrange; but used figuratively (of words) to speak; rarely (in a destructive sense) to subdue) in his wrath, and vex them in his sore displeasure.
    We will be wise if we acknowledge and rejoice in the power and complete control of God over everything, including ourselves.

    Like

    1. We have to take each day in our stride to do our work. I wrote my post in a hurry not explaining that things outside my control would take over my day. That’s how tasks to be done got pushed to another day, and got accumulated. Sheen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

