Favorite Smells

Daily Prompts: Nosey Delights
From the yeasty warmth of freshly baked bread to the clean, summery haze of lavender flowers, we all have favorite smells we find particularly comforting. What’s yours?

20140717-100855-36535405.jpg

Oops! It depends upon my nose. You see sometimes my nose works, and at times it stop working all together. My nose works according to its own whims.

I love the smell of toast, fresh coffee, and the aroma of rice when it is cooking. The smell wafts through the house making me want them. The lovely smell of mint leaves in the kitchen is another smell I prefer.

When bread or pizza is in the oven getting baked, the yeasty smell is heavenly. I adore the smell of baking cakes, muffins, and cookies. To me it seems very welcoming.

I cherish the fragrance of flowers like Daffodils, Sweet Pea, Jasmine, Motia, and Night-Queen. They are the smells of my childhood. The tiny buds of Night-Queen opens at night time only, and they emit a heavenly fragrance. I would love to have a perfume spray of it.

One perfume spray which is still a favorite (with me) after many years, has been dubbed by my two granddaughters (M2 and M3), as “Smell of Nano”. The thing is, I have been using it for such a long period, my nose can’t smell it. I can only smell it, if I discontinue it for some time.

One of my late husband R’s favorite was an after shave he used. I loved its smell too. He was very frugal in buying things for himself. The only things on which he didn’t mind spending money were his liked after shaves and fragrances. I gave away his closet full of them away.

I have kept a used one of his on my dressing table. He told me once laughingly, that he uses it to entice me (cause I liked it). I sometimes open the stopper to bring back R’s smell to my mind.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/nosey-delights/
Favorite Smells

13 thoughts on “Favorite Smells”

      1. For beginning draw a face of anyone in your home. Keep drawing. I used to draw my husband. He used to get very annoyed. I can assure you, you will get better at it. Sheen.

        Like

Leave a Reply

