My Emblem

Daily Prompt: Object Lesson
Sherlock Holmes had his pipe. Dorothy had her shoes. Batman had his Batmobile. If we asked your friends what object they most immediately associate with you, what would they answer?

20140718-084515-31515669.jpg

I am known as, “The Umbrella Lady.” I carry an umbrella around with me. I am prone to acute sunburn. I am sure at some point in life you did get a sunburn, and how terrible it was. I envy other people who have no such problem

If you see my nose its’ top end surface looks burnt, whether I carry an umbrella or not.

I used to go out in the sun without any protection. I don’t use makeup. That offers a protection against the sun. I was so naive. When I was younger, or say my skin was younger, it didn’t matter to me. My face, neck would get sunburnt, but I would recover within two-three days.

Then my skin lost its ability to heal. I noticed black, burnt patches on my neck. I didn’t have any clue. I was so un-observant. I can kick myself for it.
Secretions oozed out from my cheeks and nose surface. That was when I realized something was terribly amiss.

A visit to the dermatologist revealed what had happened to my skin. My skin took a while to heal. I used sunblock (SPF 60) after that. I have noticed sometimes even that is not enough.

Now I have turned vigilant. When I step out, I use sunblock, and an umbrella.

My son laughs at me. He calls umbrella “Mama’s Symbol.”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/object-lesson/
My Emblem

7 thoughts on “My Emblem”

  1. My mom gets those and she either wears full sleeves or carries an umbrella. This year due to the high temperatures, it was bad. Thankfully the visit to the dermatologist was just in time. Earlier I used to laugh but now no making fun of hers. Honestly I was terrified.

    Like

  2. Me too, haha! I am extremely fair-skinned, and burn fast. I carry an umbrella like a parasol. People laugh, but I don’t care. Better a few stares than an awful burn!

    Like

Leave a Reply

