Scary

Daily Prompt: Can’t Watch This
When was the last time you watched something so scary, cringe worthy, or unbelievably tacky — in a movie, on TV, or in real life — you had to cover your eyes?

20140721-092808-34088783.jpg

I easily get scared. Where does the source of my fear lie? I can guess it only; probably something must have happened in my childhood. I don’t have any recollection.

A few days back, I was totally immersed in a story on my iPad, oblivious to my surroundings. My daughter-in-law N poked her head inside my room, and said something. She was going out, and had come to tell me that she wouldn’t be home. I was startled, and jumped a mile by her sudden voice.

N was amazed at my reaction, and wanted to know why I got scared in the first place.

Actually I wasn’t expecting her. At hearing her, I jolted back into reality with a suddenness.

Yesterday I was alone in the kitchen. I was making a fresh salad for our evening meal. My son and I are the only two among the family of six people who crave a salad. The boys stuff themselves with cheese and potato Pakoras at Iftari, when we break our fast. They don’t want a salad with the evening meal.

At the kitchen sink, suddenly a hand (N’s hand) snaked forward while I was washing carrots. My reaction: I jumped on my toes, and gave a shiver.

Unexpected things do give me frights. I know there is nothing to fear, but I get alarmed easily.

I don’t watch horror movies, or read books if it’s horror genre. They give me the creeps. My heart hammers painfully, and I get goosebumps. I realize it’s make believe, but I can’t take it.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/can’t-watch-this/
Scary

One thought on “Scary”

Leave a Reply

