Dust In the Wind

Daily Prompt: Odd Trio Redux
Time for another odd time prompt: write a post about any topic you want in whatever form or genre, but make sure it features a slice of cake, a pair of flip-flops, and someone old and wise.

20140802-101900-37140140.jpg

Today, 2nd August is the second death anniversary of my husband R.

Yesterday we held a Quran Khawani for him. There are thirty parts to read. I was expecting half of them left to me to finish later on, but thankfully five remained. One lady (mother of a friend), who looked so wise and old managed three, the same as me. Some ladies read two each. While the rest of them managed one only.

Children had come with their mothers. They ran about in flip-flops. Most of them remained upstairs in the children’s playroom.

After finishing the reading, we served food. My daughter-in-law had made the Pulao and baked chicken pieces. I had ordered some dishes from a local restuarant. I had made halwa and a beans salad. The ladies loved the halwa I had made, and asked for a recipe. I had a burn mark (to show) on my left arm, which I had acquired in the making of halwa.

The children liked slices of cake, and ice cream.

I held my tears at bay, when finally we said Dua for R.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/odd-trio-redux/
Dust In the Wind

2 thoughts on “Dust In the Wind”

Leave a Reply

