Words to Wind You

Daily Prompt: Sounds Right
This is clearly subjective, but some words really sound like the thing they describe (personal favorites: puffin; bulbous; fidgeting). Do you have an example of such a word (or alternatively, of a word that sounds like the exact opposite of what it refers to)? What do you think creates this effect?

One of my favorite word is eternity. It washes peace and a forever kind of sound on me. Then it also reminds me of one of my favorite perfume spray: Eternity, which is kind of fabulous.

Obstinate brings right in front of my eyes, those mulish characters who are set like rocks in their thoughts and ways. They won’t budge from their stance even when they know they are in the wrong. More like a donkey when you are trying to move it forward, and it doesn’t move.

Rotund has two meanings; round and fat. It conjures up Adnan Sami Khan (a singer whose voice I like), who was fat and round till he met his second, or maybe third wife, and decided to take a crash course in dieting.

IMG_3829.JPG

Now he looks better.

IMG_3830.JPG

Jerk brings to mind a person who is totally unhelpful. A contemptible, obnoxious person.
It also means a sudden movement, or lurch.

Lean suggests thin, or lanky, but it also means resting against something for support.

Grave and grave.
First meaning: he wore a grave countenance meaning very solemn, stern, somber.
Second meaning is of course the spot where one lies in peace.
I have chosen my last home on earth beside my husband, but that is not final. Where I die, probably I will be buried there, and that only God knows.

Then there is Bass, which is a kind of fish, and its second meaning is voice.

The English language ties a layman in knots with its double meanings and pronunciation with words like entrance and entrance, towers (tall) and towers, minute and minute (small), project and project, wind and wind, and putting and putting (golf).

Still trying to find my way in the labyrinth of words.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sounds-right/
http://wp.me/p23sd-n4G

Credit Adnan’s photos: Google.

4 thoughts on “Words to Wind You”

Leave a comment