Hi Stranger!

Daily Prompt: Greetings, Stranger
You’re sitting at a cafe when a stranger approaches you. This person asks what your name is, and for some reason, you reply. The stranger nods, “I’ve been looking for you.” What happens next?

IMG_3982.PNG

I am staring despondently into my latte. I am sitting at an outside table. There are few people around. Suddenly a stranger stops. He turns around, retraces his steps, and stands beside me.

He hesitatingly asks, “you’re Farzana Qasmi?”

At a loss I stare at him. “Do I say yes, or no?” I briefly debate with myself.

“Yes,” I look up at him with wariness in my eyes. “How comes he knows my name,” I am asking myself.

He pulls out a chair, and sits down.

“I’ve been meaning to call you, but I’ve been very busy. Can you come at eight tomorrow to the office?”

Oh! It becomes a bit clearer to my muddled head as to who he was. I had applied for a job. I wear a head scarf. It wasn’t necessary but I had attached a photo of myself with the form I had filled.

I had thought if someone sees how I looked, it would be better to be rejected early then after an interview.

I nod at him. He must be thinking, “what a strange lady?”

I am speechless with joy at finally getting a job. He doesn’t know that I am down to my last cents, and he is an angel in disguise for me.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/greetings-stranger/
http://wp.me/p23sd-njB

One thought on “Hi Stranger!”

Leave a Reply

