Falling Leaves

Daily Prompt: Autumn Leaves
Changing colors, dropping temperatures, pumpkin spice lattes: do these mainstays of Fall fill your heart with warmth — or with dread?

There is one day of Fall etched in my mind, and it won’t go away.

Leaves were littering the terrace of our home, and I had yet to clean them away. Interspersed with the leaves were a few honey bees blown with the wind. Maybe their wings were broken by the storm they faced. They lay on the terrace helplessly.

I was ironing my husband R’s clothes, after coming back from a funeral of R’s friend. R was having a brief respite from his rounds of chemotherapy.

The day was overcast. Gusts of wind blew, bringing with them a trepidation of a cold winter ahead. A slow dread was overtaking my spirits when I looked at the dark, and rainy weather.

Staring me in the face was the specter of death with its gloomy face. I was feeling apprehensive that it was going to come after R, and we may not be having time on our side.

So Fall brings back to me memories of that day in my life.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/autumn-leaves/
http://wp.me/p23sd-np3

4 thoughts on “Falling Leaves”

  1. The connection of autumn leaves and death…very charmingly gloomy. You have succeeded in expressing it so well. I feel sorry for your husband’s friend and the way you felt about death. Hope you two enjoy a beautiful ling life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

