Big Day Ahead

It’s the night before an important event: a big exam, a major presentation, your wedding. How do you calm your nerves in preparation for the big day?

It depends upon the amount of preparation I have done. When I am well prepared I am calm, otherwise my nerves are on edge. I keep telling myself not to panic, hoping everything will turn out right.

Like on my wedding, I had done the crying a day earlier, and with wedding jitters in place, I had refused to go ahead with the wedding. My stern faced brother told me the time for backing out was way behind me, and I had no longer that option.

Unlike brides here, brides in my home country do cry when they are leaving their parents’ home. The guests around me must have searched for tears on my face, which were non existent.

Like today is Eid Al Adha, a day of sacrificing. In my home country, Eid was a very trying day. Maybe, when I was a child I may have enjoyed Eid, but as an adult it was a day of endless work. The mountains of food to be prepared for guests was sheer drudgery. The servant was better off than me, because he would go on leave on Eid, and I would be left doing all the work.

Here Eid is different. People meet in mosque. If a friend has arranged a party on Eid, you go with your one dish to that friend’s home; otherwise you are not inundated with guests at odd hours, and that too for three days. By the end of the hectic days I went through (before), I usually turned into a zombie. I used to be so fatigued.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/big-day-ahead/
http://wp.me/p23sd-nBL

4 thoughts on “Big Day Ahead”

  1. Funny, I commented on how Eid ul Adha is so different for me now as against as a child growing up when it was celebrated with the attendant sacrifice and hard work with my grandparents and mother’s siblings and my cousins, and when my father did all of the cutting up etc. I live in a different country now, and mum’s siblings have all relocated from that family street, so even for my brother who lives on that street, it is different. Were our eyes, and hearts so very different then?
    It is still hectic and work-filled, but I have yet to master the art of having lunch prepared when I am so involved in the cutting up and parcelling off etc. (One year I did turkey for lunch!). And this year, no one invited us to their homes for either lunch or dinner, sob.
    But our family enjoyed the day being together, and thankfully my teenagers can do so much more when I feel that I am waning.
    Eid Mubarak Sheen, and enjoy the rest of the 3 days. I wish you visitors throughout.

    Like

    1. Thank you, and a belated Eid Mubarak to you. Thankfully my days of hectic Eids are over, although I do miss my late husband.
      Here in Sugar Land, Houston, Texas Eids are peaceful, and none are interested in eating that much.

      Like

Leave a Reply

