In Search for a Bride (2)

Ready, Set, Done
by Ben Huberman
Our ten-minute free-write is back! Have no mercy on your keyboard as you give us your most unfiltered self (feel free to edit later, or just publish as-is).

IMG_3056.JPG
Photo Credit: Google

2nd excerpt from my book (maybe one day I will write). For reference see
“In Search of a Bride”, January 14, 2014.

I phoned (the girl) L’s mother. This was awkward. Mrs. A (L’s mom) had never seen me, or heard of me. I was red hot in face, and perspiring, in the middle of a cold winter.

Someone the family knows, goes with you to help smooth over the situation, and here I was on my own. I summoned my courage with a capital C. I introduced myself to Mrs. A explaining why I wanted to visit her. I asked for a convenient time.

Did she agree? Yesssss…..she did, after two days. Plenty of time to discreetly inquire about yours truly. After all Peshawar is not such a big town.

Though we met for the first time, both of us hit it off. We liked each other tremendously. L came in for a few moments, and she was lovelier than words could describe.

When we (my driver Ayan and I) headed back towards home, Ayan asked me, “Bibi (a form of respect like Ma’am), why were we visiting these people?”

As if he didn’t guess beforehand. Wily man!

Servants gossip, and in seconds tell each other their employers’ secrets. What L’s mother failed to tell me was that her daughter was already engaged, and my driver had known it, the minute he had entered Mrs. A’s home.

Somehow Mrs. A had liked the wrapping (that’s me) on the parcel, and wanted to see the goodies (that’s my son).

(My ten minutes are up)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-5/
http://wp.me/p23sd-nOC

2 thoughts on “In Search for a Bride (2)”

Leave a Reply

