A Hectic Day

Out of Breath
by Ben Huberman
We all seem to insist on how busy, busy, busy we constantly are. Let’s put things in perspective: tell us about the craziest, busiest, most hectic day you’ve had in the past decade.

IMG_4106.JPG
Image Credit: Google

Shutting down a home requires a number of things to be done before one can leave. The task becomes difficult with friends, and guests dropping on you on your last day at home. You have to bite your tongue not to say anything. You have to keep the expressions on your face welcoming, in spite of the fact that you need time to finish off the work to be done.

What can you say to their faces? I just keep mum.

Please say your goodbyes 4-5 days earlier, unless you are specifically asked to come. Please don’t come on my last day, when I am trying to close down my home for an indefinite period.

Please don’t linger for hours. Let me finish my chores. I am tired, and there is a long journey ahead of me. I need rest. That’s what was lingering in my mind, when I was coming here in May, 2013.

The busiest day went by. Last work was done. The fridge, and the hot water boiler, gas were shut down at last. Electric gadgets disconnected. I wanted to lie down (to straighten up my back) for a few moments, before finishing last minute tasks, when my tenant came upstairs. Thanks to her I forgot my bag of medicines which to this day must be resting in my dressing room.

She left when my brother, and nephew came to take me to the airport.
My nephew Shahid came rushing upstairs to demand iced water. It was a good turn. I had forgotten to empty a thermos full of cold water. I had filled it earlier when I had shut down the fridge. If Shahid had not asked for water, the thermos would have gathered fungus to this day.

I was going to empty it, when Lala (my elder brother) came up too for iced water, with rivulets of perspiration running down his face.

Next time I shouldn’t disclose the date of my leaving to avoid last minute disturbance. Let’s hope I stick to my resolution.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/out-of-breath/
http://wp.me/p23sd-nRb

One thought on “A Hectic Day”

Leave a Reply

