The Spools Doll

By Hand
by Ben Huberman
What’s the best present you’ve ever received that was handmade by the giver, not store-bought? Tell us what made it so special.

Our new friends when we were first posted to Abbotabad were, Col and Mrs. Q, and their daughter Talat. They lived in their own house on the opposite side of the street from us. Our home was a rented one.

Mrs. Q, and Talat lovingly befriended my children, and I. We were in, and out of each other houses on a daily bases. Either they came over after eleven, or I would go over to their place. Mrs. Q made the the best cups of tea I have ever tasted.

My first handmade gift came from Talat in the form of a doll. This was a special doll carrying spools of thread, a scissor, and needles. It came in very handy, and hung in a corner near my sewing machine.

I had the doll with me for many years till 2012. I parted with it when I cleared away many things from my home.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-hand/
http://wp.me/p23sd-o92

2 thoughts on “The Spools Doll”

Leave a Reply

