A Chicken Crossing

Ready, Set, Done!
by Ben Huberman
As it’s been a while since our last free-write… set a timer for ten minutes. Write without pause (and no edits!) until you’re out of time. Then, publish what you have (it’s your call whether or not to give the post a once-over).

IMG_4303.PNG

Why did the chicken cross the road?

At various intervals this question has come up. I wonder why people are obsessed with the chicken crossing the road?

If he (maybe a she, or it) wants to cross the road, for all purposes he has every right to do so. Why should we try to put a stop to the crossing?

Here are the replies:

To go to the other side.

It’s the nature of chickens.

To go where no other chicken has gone before.

You tell me?

I forgot.

TJ (my daughter’s nine years old son) made a variation on the old question.

One day I phoned, and TJ picked up. He asked me, “Nano, can you answer my question?”

Poor Nano (that’s me), was wondering what he is going to ask.

“Why didn’t the chicken cross the road?”

“It didn’t want to.”

“No, I ate it”, Tj giggled.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-7/
http://wp.me/p23sd-u4D

Leave a Reply

