Given up

Final Trio
by Ben Huberman
For our final trio prompt of the year, write about any topic you wish, but make sure your post features a bookcase, something cracked, and a song you love.

πŸ† ⛳️ πŸ€ πŸ‡ πŸ† ⛳️ πŸ€ πŸ‡ πŸ† ⛳️ πŸ€ πŸ‡ πŸ† ⛳️ πŸ€ πŸ‡ πŸ†

For one wall of my lounge, I had a huge bookcase. I was giving the lower portion on rent, so I thought to remove it upstairs to one of the bedrooms above. I couldn’t! It was too huge to pass through the stairs. I gave up on that.

There was a another one in the living room. This was smaller in size. This unit housed the commemorative paraphernalia of my (late) husband R in the Army. I (specially), had it made for items, presented to R, during his various transfers from place to place. Some were going away plates in silver, and wood, some were commemorative plates for special occasions, and some were R’s trophies in Golf.

There was Cedar wood panelling in the room. At the time when the work was done, I was recovering from hysterectomy. So I never realized that the person doing the woodwork had left the place behind the unit.

The carpenter, I called couldn’t procure Cedar wood for me to do the eight foot space, so that I could move the unit upstairs. Besides he quoted a huge amount of money to do the space in some other wood. The wood he would have used would have contrasted badly with the original work.

I had to leave the unit in place. It cracked my heart in pain, when I was packing all the memorabilia in a box. There was a ring of finality in removing traces of my husband’s life from the bookcase. An era, quickly receding to the past.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/final-trio/

Leave a Reply

