Proud

When was the last time someone told you they were proud of you?

IMG_4544

Who was going to tell me that he, or she is proud of me? What a tricky question?

I phoned my daughter, and asked her, “are you proud of me?”

She started, “you had no mother to follow a role model……….” She started laughing , “haha…”
Oops! I was getting alarmed. Was she laughing at me?
“No, I can’t hold my tears”. She cried in earnest.
I did get an earful of praise from her. No use writing, that’s so contrived.

Although I suppose I can write about my late husband. Two weeks before he died, we returned to our rooms from the hospital. He was drained of energy after his chemotherapy session. I fed him chicken soup, and helped him to bed. As I was covering him with a sheet, he remarked that he was not going to make it.

I couldn’t stop crying, although I always took care not to cry in front of him. I asked his forgiveness for anything I may have done in my life with him. He tried to get up, but he had gone so weak. With tears in his eyes, he asked my forgiveness, and said that he was proud that I was his wife…….

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/proud/

7 thoughts on “Proud”

  1. thats a best thing a husband can say to his wife. and ur poster ” Forgiveness ” reminds me of my fav film ” Thousand words ” which featured eddie murphie. if you havenot watched it then please do , u will know how it is related to ur post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

