My Mentor

  

My mentor has always been God, and the book He gave us —- Quran. I am lucky I found Him at an early age. In moments of stress, ill-health, calamity, I find solace by turning to God.

I strive to better myself at my failings, and one of those were I couldn’t forgive my two paternal uncles, and my aunt (who was my mother’s younger sister). They ill treated my younger brothers. I just didn’t have it in my heart to forgive them till a few days back.

The last time I visited my parent’s grave yard was when my husband R was alive in 2011. We were on our way to R’s ancestral village. R stopped the car on the roadside. I got down to visit my parents, and younger brother in their last abodes. 

I stayed away from both of my uncles’ graves. My aunt died in 2013. She is now buried in the same place. After her death her son sent the body back from New York. 

God forgives us our blunders, and our sins, so I realized I should let go of my ill feelings, and resentment for my these relatives. I feel relieved that I finally let go my feelings of anger.

 https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mentor-me/

Mentor Me

Have you ever had a mentor? What was the greatest lesson you learned from him or her?

5 thoughts on “My Mentor”

  1. Alhamdulillah. A short, sweet and touching story. I know the feeling. Exactly how t feels. To hold that anger and somewhere it corrodes us from within.
    I am happy that you have let go the past and I make a dua that Allah forgives all your sins on the Day of Resurrection. Ameen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

