The Grand Slam

There was a time I followed games, and knew which grand slams took place. Not now, I can only think of my own grand slam, and that is — getting through the day. Now burdened with housework, at the end of day when I drop into my bed my last thought is, “hope I fare better tomorrow”.

Ramadan has been hectic to say the least. Add to it the coming of my daughter, and family. Getting food on the table at Sehri, and Iftari is a big challenge.

Today is the last Roza (fast). Tomorrow is declared Eid.

Last night I went with the family for Taravee (special added prayers during Ramadan) to the mosque. Normally I stay back  to clean, and spruce up the place. After returning I did the work. We would have ended up fasting on empty stomachs if not for my son waking me. .What I had done was to turn off the alarm when it sounded, and gone back to sleep. Thankfully my son woke me to announce there were twenty minutes left till Azan time when the fast closed.

This year I have barely managed, and give myself low marks for everything, including my prayers. Bye to Ramadan till I see it next year.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/grand-slam/

Grand Slam

In your own life, what would be the equivalent of a walk-off home run? (For the baseball-averse, that’s a last-minute, back-against-the-wall play that guarantees a dramatic victory.)

Leave a Reply

