Another Saddam

I have been without a computer for the last two years. I used my iPad instead. My laptop was lying back home. My thinking was, “Why waste and spend money on a new one when the old one still worked?” And I was going back, wasn’t I?

My patience stopped in its tracks the month before last, and I went for the new Surface 3 which cost quite a packet. I love it for its size, and sleek look which is great.

My son on seeing my photo appear remarked, “Mama, you are another Saddam!”

My jaw dropped with surprise and hurt at the comparison with Saddam, and I asked, “Why did you compare me with him?”

“He was erecting statues of himself everywhere, and you are just like him in pasting a photo of yourself”.

“Why not?”, I countered back. It’s lovely to look at if I may say so brazenly, and after all it was my computer. 

“Uh..ah..ah”, replied he, not wanting to say anything further to annoy me.
Daily Prompt: Mouth Drop

In exactly 100 words creatively describe one moment when your mouth dropped open, chin hit the ground, and tears rolled down your face (figuratively or not). If you prefer to develop this into a longer post, that’s fine too!
https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mouth-drop/

6 thoughts on “Another Saddam”

  1. To love, thyself is one of God’s wishes, for one who does not love thyself can not love others.
    Be proud of who you are….Saddam loved himself much differently and he did not love others. I think your son owes you an apology……jus sayin……

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

