A Choice Not Liked

At the moment, my memory is in shambles. I am stressed at the choices I have to make –stay in Houston, or move to Virginia. The home I liked my son dithered on it to make a bid on my behalf. I could visulize myself there, planning fruit trees to be planted and a vegetable garden. Alas it’s not to be.

The one still available on the market is in a terrible state of disrepair. My son S wants me to make up my mind over it. It has got all the three good schools— elementary, middle and high, and S thinks if I needed to sell it at a later stage it’s a plus point. I don’t like it at all. It’s big for me — all I want is a two bedroom house and that’s it. S says I can work on it one room at a time. I don’t like the work it entails and my heart feels heavy at the choices I need to take.
DAILY PROMPT

Unpopular

Tell us about a time when you had to choose between two options, and you picked the unpopular choice.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/unpopular/

13 thoughts on “A Choice Not Liked”

  1. For the most part, I choose the unpopular choice. And that works for me since my goal is not to be popular but to be myself. You can live better with and be a happier self if you make your choices not caring about whether your choice is “unpopular” or not. Choose what is right with your heart, mind and soul and you can’t go wrong, no matter what the “popular” bunch thinks. I have chosen the unpopular choice quite a few times and I have always been happy with the results. There was one time when I choose the popular choice and that time haunts me because I know, now, that this was not the right choice for me. So, we live and learn, either the hard way or the easy way. Bottom line is that to be popular does not necessarily mean you are right or that your choice is right for your life. Popular might win prizes in society but popular never makes one happy nor does it ever fulfill anyone permanently. Popular might make you happy for a moment or for a few moments. Choosing, without the thought of whether your choice is popular, now, that’s progress, and that’s long-lasting good results.
    What if your choice didn’t depend on what’s popular, what would your choice be?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is something to be said for the “work at it one room at a time” approach but an awful lot against. Particularly if your heart is not in the building. I’m doing up my house (far too big now the children have left home) a room at time and am enjoying it….But…it does seem to be taking forever. Good wishes with whatever choice you choose.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. My son is trying to make me choose a house according to a re-sellable value, whereas I want a small manageable home. How much longer I am going to live– 5 years — 10 years? I want to be in a home I like. I wish he gets this into his head.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You must choose the small, manageable option. The one for you may not be available at the moment but you’ll know it when you see it. Forget re-sale value. The value of a house is as a home.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

