Object

  

The object, or I rather say the objective in sight is passing my DMV test in the few weeks ahead. I don’t even know where the premises are located being new to town here. To be truthful I did stay here for two months in the summer of 2010. I was than a visitor, and never envisaged that I will be back here as a  resident some day. I am trusting Google Maps to show me the route.

My son kept me from acquiring a car when I arrived in Houston in May 2013. He said, “Mama! You don’t need to drive”. Most of the time I was confined to my room upstairs waiting for a weekend when he would be free to take me for anything I needed.

Back home the narrow roads are congested, and we move real slow on the roads. Here you whiz past at terrifying speeds. My heart drops down every time when I am made to drive on highways by my driving instructor Mike. Here we drive on the right whereas it was the opposite back home. Meanwhile there are a hundred signs to get used to, and learn.

The first time I drove with Mike I repeatedly turned on the wipers when I needed to indicate the left or right turn.Back home the indicators are on the right side. I would mutter an embarrassed sorry every time it happened. 

Another scary thing are the up and down winding roads. I have wished (maybe a thousand times or more) I had driven in Houston where the ground is flat, it wouldn’t have been so terrifying now for me.
Daily Prompt

Object

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt. 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/object/

6 thoughts on “Object”

  1. Life is all about learning. When child is born knew nothing acquired everything from this world slowly and gradually. Don’t allow child inside you be older . Keep alive learning instinct. You have already learnt and reached to the destination where others can’t think off.

    Keep enjoying life the way it comes to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know who says, “driving is fun.” I had finished taking my driving lessons a few months back. It was not fun as I missed a turn and became the center of commotion and repeated a few other mistakes. But I did it finally, and hope that you will also be able to do it. Don’t think about the bus you’ll be travelling in, think about the car you’ll be driving. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the upbeat comment. Today I managed to go to Food Lion to get some food items – like bread, Tostitos, shrimps and so on. I lost my way while going, but did reach it after a while. I was flustered while coming out and couldn’t locate my car. I had forgotten as to where I had parked it. When I was finally back home I gave myself a pat on the back. Thank God I won’t be dying of hunger anytime. Ha ha that was one worry too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So proud of you Sheen! 🙂 I’ve shifted to a new town and there has been a long break ever since I had touched the wheels of my car. The only thing I did was parking the car and moving it by an inch. I think I’ll be driving very soon when my grocery will be out of stock and no one will be home other than me. Scary!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

