The Color Green


The first day I occupied my home here,  the main color got decided inadvertently–without any conscious thought on my part. My daughter Nola and I were searching for a car for me. We were thinking of a second hand car, obviously to get a low insurance. We didn’t find any. The story of the car can be left for another time.

We dealt with buying a car. The next thing was moving into my home from the hotel. I had to get mattresses for sleeping –we couldn’t sleep on the floor. Off we went to Sam’s Club. Bought the stuff from there and other places. The first few days were hectic, considering I had to buy everything from A to Z. From my Peshawar home, I did manage to bring a few plates, a frying pan, a cooking pot, a cutlery set to get going. I forgot to pack the two dishes I wanted to bring along, but their lids did reach here. I found use for them minus their dishes. I use them to cover food in the plate for microwaving.

After I put everything together the main color turned out mostly blue. Green is only the color of my table mats which I brought with me from back home. I stitched them long ago. They were gathering dust in a drawer–totally forgotten.

 

DAILY PROMPT

Green

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/green/

4 thoughts on “The Color Green”

    1. My home in my home country is mostly done in green, specially the hand woven carpet in my bedroom. I love green, blue and white, and even have clothes mostly in those colors. There is a dinner set, a salad set in green too.
      I would love to meet your mother seeing how much we like the same color.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We have ended up loving green (and teal) too. But my in-laws believe it’s bad luck. Nevertheless green & peach were our wedding colours. My ring has an emerald as its primary stone, and my husband’s eyes are green:) Love the aqua teal green hues

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

