Diverse

I came to know what the word diverse meant when I first started looking for a home. My realtor used the word — this neighborhood is diverse in outlook. This is a good place for you. This meant there was an amalgam of white, black and brown races, where I wouldn’t stick out like a sore thumb. I wouldn’t draw attention to a different me.

I liked a brand new house in a black neighborhood, but my realtor said you look too white here. In a white area I was an only Muslim, plus the head covering made me stood out. It wasn’t for me.

Finally in a diverse neighborhood I wasn’t the only one looking different with my scarf covered head. There existed others like me.

DAILY PROMPT

Diverse

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/diverse/

Leave a Reply

