Companion


What it’s like to lose a companion

When the loss hits you, you know

Memories come rushing back

And heart aches anew

Sitting in the back of my brother’s car

Listening to my brother and his wife

I realize with a jolt again

I will never have my own companion back, and I can’t undo

Which death has taken, and I bid adieu

Seeing couples holding hands

Fresh grief strikes to hold that hand once I had anew

(Sheen-June2016)

…………..

DAILY PROMPT

Companion

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/companion/

One thought on “Companion”

Leave a Reply

