Autonomy at Home


I wanted my own say where my bed should be placed in the room. My son had his own prerogative in which direction it should be. In the end hard earned autonomy won — the spot I chose.

There wasn’t a good option available. One thing was clear that my feet shouldn’t face the Kaaba. It meant disrespect. For those who don’t know? Kaaba is the House of Worship built by the Prophet Ibrahim together with his son Ismail at Mecca. It is in this direction we face when we pray to God five times a day, or more. Buried in the graves our faces are turned slightly right facing Kaaba too.

My son wanted my bed in a different spot then I had in my mind. He stopped objecting. It was my room after all. The hired men helped in putting my room together for me.

…………

DAILY PROMPT

Autonomy

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/autonomy/

2 thoughts on “Autonomy at Home”

Leave a Reply

