Unpredictable 


In the days my sister in law M died, the weather turned unpredictable. A heavy mist came down. In the mornings the sun would climb high in the sky, but the mist wouldn’t clear. One had to wait till noon for the skies to clear off.

My brother in law B told me that he would be coming at seven to pick me up, and I should be ready to leave. The burial was set at eleven. We thought we had ample time. Because of the mist on the highway it was slow going. We crawled at a slow pace, since B could only see a few feet ahead. It was our bad fate there were more trucks than cars on the road that day. My sister in law S kept a steady chatter throughout our journey, but it couldn’t alleviate our miserable trip.

The heater in their car wasn’t working. I was glad I had dressed warmly, cause by the time we reached M’s house all of us were feeling cold. The weather turned more dark and stormy as we entered the house. Cries of grief rent the air.

Last winter another thing which was unusual was the heavy mist in the evening and at night. On the terrace of my home the mist would be thick. It was literally walking into a wall beyond which you couldn’t see. 

I have never seen the likes of it before, although I have lived in Peshawar for quite sometime. 

………..

DAILY PROMPT

Unpredictable

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/unpredictable/

2 thoughts on “Unpredictable ”

Leave a Reply

