Elegant

I am trying to nail this elegant thing. I used to be terrible at wearing elegant clothes. I didn’t know which colors would suit me. With the frequent postings of my late husband I was hard pressed at finding good tailors who could stitch clothes according to my wishes. Tailors in general follow the universal designs liked only by themselves. 

I didn’t want low cuts, not wanting my chest on display. I have never liked fitted shirts. I wear loose shirts which won’t cling to my body. I now know how to do the alteration to my own clothes after I get them stitched from my tailor.

Three years back I shifted permanently here from my home country. I am still trying to find my way in this maze of dressing. Dressed in shalwar, qameez and dopatta I stood out among people here.  While going from Houston to New York in 2013, security at the airport was  troublesome. It was the reason I took to wearing jeans, pants and shirts. I didn’t like the shirts I bought in the beginning, I gave them away. 

I am petite. Clothes in my size are difficult to find, specially pants. Clothes in the girls’ section are way too small, and tight, and in the women’s section pants are larger in size. This year I became good at altering pants too. I didn’t have one in grey. I bought one at Target, shortened, and narrowed it to my size.

I can’t wear polyester clothes. I bought some hijabs not knowing they were polyester. My neck formed blisters. I thought an insect must have bitten me. I continued wearing those hijabs. During this time my neck went from bad to worse. Once it dawned on me what was the real cause I had to discard them. I found cotton ones which aren’t that pretty, but at least they don’t make my skin itch, or form blisters. 

I have to search for cotton shirts which will look good on me. The pretty ones are all polyester. I avoid those. I am learning gradually how to find clothes at cheaper prices (when they are on Sale). Once in a while I do get lucky in finding something which I like, and is affordable.

….

DAILY PROMPT

Elegant

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/elegant/

5 thoughts on “Elegant”

    1. I cover my ankles. I don’t wear Capris. I have never ordered online yet. I prefer to go into stores to try things. I am getting the hang of what can look good on me. I think it will take time to get proficient at finding clothes in which to look good.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. I recently visited my sister who lives in Medford, Long Island. I liked her lacy shirt. She looked marvelous wearing it. I am always admiring the clothes she wear. She looks elegant. I tried the same one in Macy’s. I shuddered when I looked at myself in the mirror. It was all wrong for me. The neck was too wide, and my cleavage was visible. It looked so good on her.
        Besides she is not as religious as me, as she doesn’t cover her head. That makes a lot of difference in how a person looks.
        Please don’t get me wrong. No one has forced me to cover up. That’s how I am, and I won’t give up for all the gold in the world.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

