Discover 

I’am trying to re-discover Peshawar. The first day — I had totally forgotten about the price haggling done with vendors. It’s a ritual which one has to follow religeously. If not done, one can spend more than the amount required to do so.

Yesterday on the trip to the market, after getting done with Nola’s requirements, I espied a vendor with guavas. I stopped to purchase some. I brought the price down from Rs. 120 to Rs. 100/kg, although it would have been a good price at Rs. 80/kg. It didn’t happen.

Yesterday with the evening function of Mehndi at Nola’s in-law’s home, I forgot the guavas. At breakfast time, while I took them out from the bag to put them in a bowl, I noticed what the wily vendor had done. He managed to slip quite a few bruised ones into the bag.

Today is Nola’s sis-in-law wedding day. Obviously I have to be on time to attend it. Nola and family arrived here just two days back from US. The last I parted with my daughter was in Hartford in September. Our next meeting when it will be only God knows? Houston is a long way from Hartford.

I can do nothing about the guavas except to make a jam from it removing the bruised areas. I like the fruit as it is, but personally I like marmalades, and strawberries jams — only those which I made myself. I have to save the fruit from decomposing , which will happen during my one week’s absence from home. I have to choose jam making.

I will have to do it in the evening, when I get back home. Hope I won’t be too tired to do so, otherwise I will have to give up saving them.

DAILY PROMPT

Discover

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt. 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/discover/

Leave a Reply

