Perfume

Wondering what to give M1 (grand daughter) I bought a perfume for her as a gift. I showed it to her while we waited for her mom in the specs shop. She said she didn’t like it. I was embarrassed. Before buying it, I should have asked about her preferences. I didn’t– my fault. It was expensive. I couldn’t give it to someone else. I had bought it with her in my mind.

I had to walk –my feet were killing me, all the way in the Mall to get to the right shop to return the gift. I thanked my lucky stars that I showed it to M1, otherwise we would have to come all the way again from where we were staying.

I found it easy buying a perfume as a gift. What I liked was that it didn’t need more space in my suitcase in air travel. M1 turning down my gift made me realize that giving a perfume wasn’t a good idea at all. 

DAILY PROMPT

Perfume

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/perfume/

7 thoughts on “Perfume”

    1. I have become a bit wiser after that embarrassing episode, where my gift was turned down. Now I try to work my brain cells to think of something else., and if possible find out what is needed.
      I am finding it much easier to hand out money when the occasion arises, and he, or she can buy themselves whatever they want. But that can be again a handicap where one doesn’t want to spend more money.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

