The Doggy Menace

Some dogs are adorable with their sweet doggy faces and irresistible manners. Even when they are not tethered on a leash, they will pass by you calmly, and cooly without threatening you with their barking. There are others who are real pests. The minute they espy you, they will bark with vigor, or try to nip at your ankles. I simply detest them, and view their owners as pests too, if they can’t restrain their dogs.

When I lived with Son in his old neighborhood, nearly every person living there had a dog. Son had cautioned me not to walk further away from the house, when I would be on my own, and he wasn’t there. I’m addicted to my walk after evening meals, and for me it is my only form of exercising.

The neighbors at our back were extremely likable people, but their dog was a brat. He would see me through the slats in the wooden enclosure, and rush nearer to angerly bark at me. Though I was walking on the side path by the house, and he couldn’t get at me, he would scare me. The neighbor would come out (Bless him) every time, and take the dog inside, so I could have a peaceful walk.

But there were other dogs to contend with. A small, black dog belonging to another neighbor was a ferocious little thing. He tried his best to take a bite whenever he saw me walking. I feared him, and prayed every time for my safety from his endeavors. I bought a cane to keep him away. I would brandish it in his face till his owner would come, and drag him away from me. It was the same  with another dog in the neighborhood. My guarding Angels saved me from being attacked.

Son got me a dog restrainer device. It was very effective. I carried it with me on my walks, and getting scared by dogs became a thing of the past. The dogs got scared instead.

DAILY PROMPT

Tether

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/tether/

3 thoughts on “The Doggy Menace”

  1. I used to love taking my German Sheperd on long walks before she passed away, however when I first got her she was a bit aggressive towards other dogs as she always wanted to be the alpha. She was a powerful dog, but I am a pretty big guy so I was always able to control her, Anyway one day we walked past this yard that had two big unleashed Rottweiler’s that came running and barking after my dog. I panicked as I was sure there was going to be a dog fight, but when the two dogs were just a few feet away, I yelled as loud as I could, “SIT’, and to my amazement all three dogs sat down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

