Sympathy 

There are some people who play up in front of an audience. If you are gullible you may think that they genuinely mean what they say, but the smart ones among us can get their true intentions.

When my late husband who died from stomach cancer was put to rest, I came face to face with quite a few of them. Many of them though living in the same city never came, never called us even, through the horrific period of his illness. If his illness was contagious, I would have understood. It wasn’t, and I felt betrayed by their utterly untrue sympathies

Why show up when the person who needed you in life to cheer him up is no longer there? Please spare us from false platitudes. 

DAILY PROMPT

Sympathy

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sympathy/

10 thoughts on “Sympathy ”

  1. I am very sorry for your loss, Sheen. But I must wonder if any of those people may have not come by just because they didn’t know what to say, how to act, etc to you in your time of heartache. I am very guilty myself of this when I myself did not go to persons who had relatives pass away. When my father was in the hospital, it was then I realized how much it meant when friends came. May God comfort your heart, Sheen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks In. I’m only annoyed with those ones who knew we were there in the same city. Those were the ones who utilized my husband in their hour of need, and once he was sick they discarded him.

      Like

      1. Aw, I’m so sorry, Sheen. Keep his loving memory strong in your posts, Dear. Your sharing about him and your precious years together are always so lovely to read about, Sheen.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

