Nightmares

Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)
What is the best dream you’ve ever had? Recount it in all it’s ethereal glory. If no dreams stand out in your memory, recount your worst nightmare. Leave no frightening details out.
Show IMAGINARY.

20140226-091144.jpg

My best dream was seeing my husband in my dreams after a period of two months absence. I wrote about it in my post, “GONE” March, 2013.

About two weeks back, I had a nightmare. I moved here in May last year. Till this month I never had a bad dream in my stay here.

In my dream I saw myself standing in the backyard of my son’s home. It is night time, and I can see my surroundings in moonlight. Something heavy is clinging to my back. I see it’s black, creepy, elongated hand on my right arm.

I am trying to shriek. My voice is coming out in whispers only. I am calling my husband. In my dream I think he is sleeping inside the house, although in reality it is one and a half year since his death. Coming back to my nightmare, my husband is oblivious to my calls. I am trying to call him loudly, but my voice is making no sound.

In desperation I am trying to shake the thing on my back. I want to throw it to the ground, but it isn’t dislodging.

The thing is heavy and I am in terror. I don’t see anyone coming to help me. Desperate, I remember to call God for help, and start reciting “Ayat-ul-Kursi”. (These are the ayats, (verses) from Quran, 2nd chapter, section 34, ayat 255)

Suddenly I woke up from my bad dream. I could still feel the weight of the thing on my back. I got up and had a glass of water. After lying back on bed I recited Ayat-ul-Kursi and went back to sleep.

Two days later, I had another nightmare. This time I saw myself in bed, lying on my back. Two (ugly, exceptionally tall, black in color, weird in their shapes) things were standing on the right side of my bed. They were trying to get near me. It was odd, but this time I was not terror struck. I calmly recited Ayat-ul-Kursi and woke up.

In the morning I gave some money in charity to ward off the evil spirits. From one they had multiplied to two, so I was perturbed as to why I was having nightmares.

I told my daughter when she phoned me. As usual she had a solution. She told me to click on http://quranexplorer.com and to play the Quran in my room.

For three consecutive days I played the 2nd chapter, Surah Al Baqarah, every morning to get rid of the Shayateen (evil spirits).

After that I put the Quran on continuous play. It plays in the back ground. At night, after saying my night prayers, I specifically put it on before sleeping. It is comforting and I am not having any nightmares.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/daily-prompt-sweet-dreams/
Nightmares