The Eucalyptus Tree

Daily Prompt: The Power Of Touch
Textures are everywhere: The rough edges of a stone wall. The smooth innocence of a baby’s cheek. The sense of touch brings back memories for us. What texture is particularly evocative to you?
Show TEXTURE.

20131206-090020.jpg

Whenever I touch the leaves of Eucalyptus tree, it brings back the memory of our home when my father was alive. The home which I left with his death.

My father was a friend to whom I could confide any happening in my small world. With his calm presence my troubles would fade away.

The tall Eucalyptus tree was planted by father. To me as a child it seemed to touch the blue sky above. It’s bark was pristine white. It would bloom with tiny buds and the evocative smell would permeate the air around. When you rubbed it’s leaf , it would leave the scent on your fingers. During Fall tiny acorns would litter the patio down below.

I have not seen it here in Houston, but back home whenever I come across it in anybody’s home, by roadside or in a park, it always brings back childhood memories of father and home.

20131206-094017.jpg
Photos thanks to Google.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/06/daily-prompt-textures/
The Eucalyptus Tree

12 thoughts on “The Eucalyptus Tree”

  1. I am originally from California and they have been imported there since the 1800’s. They were grown for windbreaks. Our house had a row of them in the backyard. I like them and so do monarch butterflies. Some varieties should grow in Huston but not all. some day you might find one. Check out SW freeway between Shepard and Main and also at the intersection of SW freeway and Beltway 8 for camaldulensis ‘Galveston’.

    Like

Leave a comment