My Heart Breaks

Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep
Have you ever eavesdropped on a conversation you weren’t supposed to? Tell about a time when it was impossible to overhear a conversation between people who didn’t know you were there. What was the conversation about? How did it make you feel?
Show ACCIDENT.

Right now I remember two conversations, a bad one and a good one. At both of them I was nearby. I wasn’t consciously listening, but I overheard.

I don’t feel like writing about the bad experience. You will get a shock knowing how heartless a person can be. It is painful.

I will write about the good one.
Years back, I overheard my father telling someone in the room with him (I was outside), “I can’t bear it, if my daughter cries. My heart breaks. She has this affect on me. When my sons cry, I would like to shake them to stop them from crying.”

I sort of realized that my father was talking about me. I was about eleven at that time. My father called me his little princess.

As a child when I would cry out in sleep, he was always there. He would instantly be on my side. He would click on a light and reassure me. Before he slept he would come to my room and see I was tucked up safely in bed.

As a teenager whenever I woke up and felt thirsty, I would call father, “Baba, I need a glass of water.” He would bring me water to drink. He never told me to get up and get the water by myself.

When he saw me, he would hug and then kiss my cheek. If I was sitting he would drop a loving kiss on my bent head.

Peace and God’s Blessings on him. Ameen.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/prompt-sleep/
My Heart Breaks

10 thoughts on “My Heart Breaks”

Leave a comment