To Banish Blues

Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile
If you’re feeling blah, what is the one thing you do that you can count on to put a smile on your face?

20140407-100216.jpg

When my husband R was alive, the first thing I did was to tell him about any problem I was facing. Most of the time, I wasn’t even aware of a problem. He liked to shield me of worries. The first day of his death and burial, was shock and crying. The second day was the realization that I had to face the world on my own, and that I was alone and defence less.

I take God as my friend. I talk to him, when things go wrong, and I ask Him for help. A quick prayer to Him soothes me.

I immerse myself in a book. Nowadays I read light fiction with happy endings. I stay clear of murders or intrigue stories. I forget my own difficulties, and get lost in the book. I get a respite.

I call my daughter. Nola is a very level headed person. She doesn’t get fazed easily. She looks for solutions. After talking to her, the acceptance comes, and the feelings of panic subsides.

I lie down to sleep. When I wake up, I am refreshed. The situation doesn’t seems that threatening. The sleep clears up my head.

Find something light on Netflix and the movie makes me forget my problem for a while.

This is sweet and funny on YouTube. I hope the link works.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/07/daily-prompt-make-me-smile/
To Banish Blues
.

13 thoughts on “To Banish Blues”

Leave a comment