Miniature 

Yesterday I had a long wait at JFK airport. I had arrived earlier from Houston. My daughter was coming via Chicago from Iowa. We were to meet there, so that she didn’t have to drive again to fetch me.

I randomly observed people, as I sat in the baggage area. Some had travelled with their dogs. One young couple had a miniature pooch– brown with black patches. He escaped from his mistress, and ran straight at me. He was unbelievingly small with pointy ears, and bulgy eyes. As I got ready to give a shriek, he skidded to a stop, and changed his direction. His mistress ran after him in hot pursuit.

A night earlier I was walking outside the apartment I live with my son. I had come out to dispose our garbage, and after that decided to take a walk. A man with a dog had come to throw his garbage too.  He had several bags. Meanwhile his dog got another idea when he saw me walking there. He excitedly started barking at me, trying to get closer to me, and ready to give me a bite. He wasn’t a miniature, but was a ferocious little thing. I shrieked involuntarily, and waved my hands at him to keep myself from being bitten. 

His owner shouted at him to stop his misbehavior, but  he kept nipping at my ankles. I moved backwards. He took umbrage at his owner from stopping him from having his fun. Clearly in a huff he ran off. His owner dropped his garbage, and ran after him. 

I saw them returning. To avoid them I continued my walk in the opposite direction. After waiting for several minutes, I turned to walk back home.

……….

DAILY PROMPT

Miniature

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/miniature/

Leave a Reply

